A Breakdown of All of Princess Catherine’s Royal Titles Through the Years

anzac day service of commemoration and thanksgiving in london

A Breakdown of Princess Kate’s Royal TitlesMax Mumby/Indigo – Getty Images

Since marrying into the British royal family, Kate Middleton—now Catherine, Princess of Wales—has adopted a handful (and, at times, mouthful) of official royal titles which represent her senior royal duties across the Commonwealth—and the list keeps growing.

This year, with Queen Elizabeth II’s passing, Kate was given a whole new set of titles, as the monarch’s death spurred a major shift in the British line of succession.

Just this December, the princess took over a title which once belonged to husband Prince William, and which marks her first-ever appointed role in the British army.

Ahead, see a full breakdown of all the official titles the Princess of Wales has had throughout her years in the British royal family.

Princess of Wales

Following the death of Queen Elizabeth on September 8, Kate graduated from duchess to princess and was named the new Princess of Wales; William, meanwhile, was named the Prince of Wales. Kate inherited the title from her late mother-in-law, Princess Diana, who was married to Prince Charles—now King Charles III—from 1981 to 1996.

While Kate is colloquially referred to as Princess Catherine or Princess Kate, her correct royal name is actually Catherine, Princess of Wales. Like Princess Diana (who was technically Diana, Princess of Wales), Kate was not born into the British royal family, thus necessitating her first name to be followed, rather than preceded, by her princess title (lest it be replaced with the forename of her royal-born spouse), per the peerage.

Kate’s princess role comes directly below in rank to Queen Consort, which she will likely inherit from Camilla Parker-Bowles, (now Camilla, Queen Consort) when William accedes to the throne.

Duchess of Cambridge

Upon marrying Prince William in 2011, Kate was officially named Her Royal Highness, The Duchess of Cambridge. It was her first and longest held role. Today, she retains the title of Duchess of Cambridge, despite her ascension to Princess of Wales.

Duchess of Cornwall

Kate additionally inherited another duchess title from Camilla—now Her Royal Highness the Princess Consort—following Queen Elizabeth’s death and King Charles’s subsequent accession. Like “Wales,” the “Cornwall” name is a courtesy title one rank below king and queen.

Kate held onto her old and new duchess titles—and was officially known as the Duchess of Cornwall and Cambridge—for a single day on September 8, which marked the brief period between Queen Elizabeth’s death and Charles’s confirmation as new king of the United Kingdom.

Colonel of the Irish Guards

Kate’s most recently bestowed title marks her first honorary appointment in the British Army with the Irish Guards regiment. She inherited the title in December 2022 from Prince William, who has since been named the new Colonel of the Welsh Guards. The princess is the first woman and second-ever royal behind William to assume the honorary military role.

Patron of Rugby

Per Queen Elizabeth’s orders, Kate was named the royal patron of the Rugby Football Union and Rugby Football League—a position formerly held by Prince Harry prior to his 2020 resignation from senior royal duties—in February 2022.

The princess has since visited Twickenham Stadium and met with England’s men’s and women’s teams at practice and training sessions for the Six Nations Championships. Per a Kensington Palace press release, the role has closely aligned with her “longstanding passion for sport and the lifelong benefits it can provide, both within our communities and on an individual level.”

Duchess of Rothesay and Countess of Chester

Kate’s regional princess titles in Scotland are Duchess of Rothesay and Countess of Chester—both of which are exclusively linked to the heir apparent to the throne and were inherited from Camilla—per the nation’s longstanding nobility system. Like in England, Kate can still be regarded as Duchess of Cornwall in Scotland as well.

Prior to becoming a princess, Kate was known in Scotland as the Countess of Strathearn.

Countess of Carrick and Baroness of Renfrew

Kate’s regional titles in Northern Ireland are Countess of Carrick and Baroness of Renfrew. While she was still only a duchess, she was known in the U.K. sovereign nation as Lady Carrickfergus.

You Might Also Like

Source link


Tricare west is a global news publication that tells the stories you want to know.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button